top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewolf101

Getting Past Writer's Block

The dreaded writers block. We've all had it at one point or another. It sucks, but it happens. Whether your writing your first book or fiftieth, you can get it at any time. So, here is what I do when I catch this horrible problem.


Change what you're doing. Stop working on the part that made you stuck and instead work on a future part of your book. Work a few chapters down.


Work on another WIP. Have another book you're writing? Work on that one and give yourself a break from the book that you're stuck on. Then once your head is clear, go back and try to keep going.


Reread your book and see what made you stuck. Go through it and see if you can figure something else out to get you free from whatever is blocking you.


Writer's Block really bad? Keep reading.


Take a walk and get some fresh air. Watch a movie. Take a relaxing bath. Read. Play some music. Don't pressure yourself to continue writing, that will only make you more frustrated, believe me, I know. Play guitar. Play a game. Write in a journal. Take a day break (or a week break, no judgement) from writing.


These are just the things I do when I'm blocked. I hope they helped!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pilot

bottom of page